Skip to main content

UALR Collections & Archives Research Guides

Ottenheimer Library | Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC) | Center for Arkansas History and Culture (CAHC)

Interlibrary Loan & ILLiad

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a means of sharing resources between libraries. Through Ottenheimer Library's ILL service, you have access to books, articles, and other items not available in our collections.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a means of sharing resources between libraries. Through Ottenheimer Library's ILL service, you have access to books, articles, and other items not available in our collection or databases. When you request an item, we send your request to participating libraries. If the item is available, they will mail us the book or send electronic copies of articles. ILLiad is the software used to request items through Interlibrary Loan.

Click HERE to logon to ILLiad. 

First-time users must complete a user registration. 

How can I request materials?

If you find an article in one of our library databases that does not provide full text, look for for the "Request Interlibrary Loan" link to initiate an ILL request.

What can I borrow through ILL?

We will request almost any library resource you need for your academic research, except current textbooks required for class.  

Examples of hard-to-get items include:

  • Books and articles published very recently

  • Electronic books, and other online-only materials

  • Reference materials (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.)

  • Archival or Special Collections materials (rare books, original manuscripts, letters, photos, etc.)

  • Technical standards

  • Reports and studies published outside of academic literature or by commercial entities

How much does ILL cost?

We do not charge users for most interlibrary loans. However, if you lose borrowed materials, the supplying library will charge replacement and processing fees.

 

What is the "Not Wanted After" date?

This is the date after which the item is no longer needed.

How long does it take?

ILL staff typically process requests you submit within 48 hours (Monday-Friday). Delivery times for interlibrary loan materials vary depending on the supplying library, mail service, and accessibility of requested items.

Typical arrival times are:

  • Articles - 3 to 5 business days
  • Books, CDs, DVDs, etc. - 7 to 10 business days

Where can I pick up and return materials?

Picking up materials

Expect a text or email notification when materials arrive. You or a designated proxy may pick up your requested items at the front desk on the first floor.  A UA Little Rock or government issued photo ID is required.

 

Returning materials

Return borrowed materials to the front desk. After hours, use one of the book drops located across campus.

How long can I keep ILL materials?

Loan Period

  • Books: The supplying library establishes the due date for materials.  We have no control over this date and must honor the due date provided.
  • Articles: Interlibrary loan delivers these electronically. Download and save your articles, which will allow you to keep them indefinitely.

Renewals
Request renewals before the due date through your ILLiad account, or call 501-569-8812. Interlibrary loan will notify you by text or email when the supplying library responds to your renewal request with a new due date or a denial.

 

Why is my ILLiad account blocked?

Blocked Library Account

Excessive overdues and non-payment for lost/damaged items may result in suspension of all library privileges including database access. Library staff may also place a block on your Banner account. Contact interlibrary loan staff at 501.569.8812 after you return the overdue items or pay assigned fees.