Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOWK 7390 Diversity & Oppression

Recommended Databases

After selecting an oppressed group that interests you, it will be necessary to obtain background information on them. This material is best found in journal articles. Depending on the topic, there are numerous databases to search. Select one or two databases to start with, based on the main focus of your policy issue.

Dissertations and Thesis

While reading the entire document may be too much, it does not hurt to search your topic in the disseration database to see if someone else has done similiar research at a graduate research level. Skimming their bibliography can provide unique resources that might not turn up in other databases. 

  • Indexes every doctoral dissertation completed at accredited institutions in the United States.
  • Provides full text for selected institutions, available from 1997 to the present.

Journal by Title

While the library offers a wide variety of databases with full-text articles, not every journal is in every database. If the database you are searching does not offer full text for the desired journal, check the journal title in Journals by Title to see if the full text is offered in another database. 

Be sure to check the dates of coverage closely. Some journals are only available for a limited number of years and many do not offer access to the latest 12-18 months.