Skip to main content

POLS 3365 European Union

Library Online Catalog

The online catalog allows you to quickly and easily search for books, as well as other materials, that the UALR Ottenheimer Library owns.

 

SEARCH Library Catalog

Helpful Hint

In addition to writing down the location and call number, remember to check the "Status" column before you go to the shelf to pull the item. Sometimes books are not on the shelf because they are checked out, recently returned, or missing.

If you cannot find a book you are looking for, please ask at the desk on the first floor of the Library for assistance.

Books on the European Union, its member states, and the operations or the organization can be searched in the UALR Ottenheimer Library online catalog using several Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings. The simplest choice is the name of the country or the organization as a whole: FranceBelgium, or European Union

If there are several books on the topic, more specific headings will be listed: Spain - Politics and Government.  

If you are more interested in a specific topic in several countries, search the topic and then divide it geographically: Education – Sweden.

Recommended Books

Reference Sources

Below are examples of generalized and subject-specific reference sources.

A Dictionary of the European Union
Call Number: REF KJE 926.5 .P55 2002 (4th floor)

World Factbook 
Call Number: US Doc PrEx 3.15: year (3rd floor)

Also available are numerous reports within the CountryWatch database (see the Finding Articles tab on the left). CountryWatch provides detailed reports and analysis for 192 countries of the world. Major sections are: CountryReviews, a series of reports for each country that includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information; CountryWire, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world; CountryWatch Data which provides statistical data on various topics across a 10-year period; and CountryWatch Map Gallery which includes physical, political, and thematic maps.

Finding European Union Agency Publications

All European Union materials held in the UALR Ottenheimer Library can be searched through the online catalog.  Nearly all the European Union collection is shelved using Library of Congress (LC) call numbers, and is interfiled with the circulating collection on the fourth and fifth floors. EU Documents can be checked out through normal library circulation procedures.

Of late, an ever increasing number of European Union agency publications are only being released in electronic format. These can be searched and access through the EU Bookshop, the official website of the European Union Publications Office.

The European Union Delegation in Washington, DC offers numerous links to materials published there and other cooperative efforts between the US and the EU.