Once the Serial Set has been selected as the databse to be used, searches can be limited by where the search terms are explored in the document or the indexing information of the document. Below is a list of all the categories of search terms that can be used for focusing a search:
-
All Fields Except Full Text - Contains all categories of information noted in the document record, but excludes the full text body of the publication.
-
All Fields Including Full Text - Contains all categories in the record and the full text body of the publication.
-
Congressional Source Committee or Agency - The committee or subcommittee that either authored the publication or to whom the publication in question was submitted. This segment also includes all federal agencies, bureaus, commissions, and nongovernmental entities authoring reports submitted to Congress.
-
Subject – The concept(s) assigned to each document based on the material it includes.
-
Title (Document or Section Title) - The title as it exists on the actual publication, the descriptive title of the publication, and the section title of executive branch publications enclosed within larger publications in the Serial Set.
-
Witness - Names of witnesses who testified in hearings published as congressional reports or documents.
-
Witness Affiliation - Affiliations of witnesses who testified in hearings published as congressional reports or documents.
-
Personal Author - The author of a publication, the member of the committee that submitted a congressional report or document, or the President of the United States.
-
Illustration Caption - The captions of illustrations as they appear in the actual publication. Illustrations are defined as all non-textual entities that are not tables or maps. These include drawings, paintings, photographs, lithographs.
-
Non-Congressional Source - All Federal agencies, bureaus, commissions, and nongovernmental entities authoring reports submitted to Congress.
-
Petitioner - The names of specific individuals who petitioned Congress for private legislation for relief (i.e., payment) in certain circumstances.
-
Table Title - The title of every statistical table included in the Serial Set. For ease of use, the title of multi-page tables containing the same exact title is entered into this search segment only once.
