Research Guides: HIST 3355 United States Civil War: Finding Articles

Recommended Journal Databases

Looking for journal articles on a specific topic? Try searching one or more of the following databases:

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History & Life with Full Text - Provides indexing and full text to journal articles on the history of the United States, Canada, and Latin America, covering prehistory to the present.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Provides primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is strong in the education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage varies; most articles at least 5 years old.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Newspapers

1) The Arkansas Gazette is indexed for part of its existence, including the years of the US Civil War. For additional information consult the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Guide. (The Arkansas Democrat did not come into existence until after the end of the US Civil War.)

2) The UALR Ottenheimer Library does not have subscriptions to regional or city newspapers from around the state. We recommend that researchers contact the public or academic library in the city or county where the publication is produced, to see if an archive exists. If the newspaper is still being published, its Web site may provide assistance as well.

3) The Arkansas State Archives has a collection of nearly 3000 titles from around 250 locations in Arkansas.

5) Harper's Weekly - This archive searches only the Civil War years of this popular weekly newspaper. All pages from 1861-1865 have been scanned and include engravings and illustrations.