Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4391 - Little Rock School Crisis

Synonyms - A Critical Search Strategy

Over the course of history, terminology has changed, even in the less than 60 years since the Little Rock Crisis. Keep in mind that materials created at the time of the event will use different words to imply race. Locating possible historic synonyms can be done by searching the current term in the the Oxford English Dictionary.

Journals tab

Not all the databases offer full text for all their entries.  The history databases have very poor full-text options, but JSTOR does not offer the most current research.  Use multiple databases and then check the Journals tab option to see if the full-text is in another database or the journal is in the library in paper or microformat.

America: History & Life

America: History & Life with Full Text provides indexing and full text to journal articles on the history of the United States, Canada, and Latin America, covering prehistory to the present. 

SocINDEX

SocINDEX provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and closely related areas of study. Articles indexed here will discuss the impact of the Crisis on society overall. These will look at the role of the Central High issue in the civil rights movement on a larger scale. 

JSTOR - Search Tips

JSTOR is an enormous database of full text journal articles. In order to use it effectively, it is necessary to focus your search carefully.

1) Uncheck the box for Include links to external content. UALR does not subscribe to this file. The files UALR has access to will provide plenty of citations.

2) Select one or two subfiles of journals under Narrow by Discipline. African American Studies, American Studies, History, Political Science, and Population Studies are all possible subjects. 

3) Narrow the Item Type to only Articles. Reviews will result in long lists of books reviews, but not the full-text of the actual book.

4) Select your search terms carefully and consider the naming specific particpants to focus the results.

Article Delivery Service

Try our Article Delivery ServiceIf you can provide the exact citation for a journal we have on paper or microfilm, we will scan it and provide you with an electronic copy using ILLiad, the same system Interlibrary Loan uses.