Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4391 - Little Rock School Crisis

Newspapers

The library has the microfilm for the Arkansas Democrat and Arkansas Gazette. Unfortunately, there is no indexing for either of the papers for 1957-1958. (For detailed information on indexing and coverage of the papers, consult the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette guide.)

While not all newspapers have online fulltext access, the UALR Ottenheimer Library does have online access to The New York Times (1851-2009) and (1980 to present) for its entire publishing history. The national perspective of the Crisis will be covered here.

Reader's Guide Retrospective

Reader's Guide Retrospective is a comprehensive index of popular general interest periodicals published in the United States. This database contains selected full text. While most entries will not be scholarly material, they might provide the news perspective of the issue at the time of its occurence.

Congressional Hearings, Reports, and Documents

HeinOnline U.S. Congressional indexes a variety of Congressional publications, including hearings. These hearings provide testimony from experts in the medical and world health fields. Included in the database will be the hearings on the creation of the National Historic Site at the school. While the full-text coverage is from the mid-1990s forward, there are earlier materials that can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

An Annotated Bibliography of Government Publications

Russ, Karen and Sarah Ziegenbein. 1957 Crisis at Central High: An Annotated Bibliography of Government Publications. ALA Government Documents Round Table,17 April  2010. Web. GODORT Occasional Papers 4.

The publication is a lengthy list of materials created by federal agencies during the Crisis and in more recent years when the National Historic Site was created and the 50th anniversary was celebrated.  Among the many publications are Presidential documents, court cases, military situation reports, and Congressional reports and hearings.  Complete citations and annotations for all sources are provided, as well as links to online access whenever possible.

Citing Sources

Citing primary sources can be a tricky task.  Be sure to check the correct section format in the Chicago Manual of Style.