Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 3320 - Buried Cities, Ancient Lives

Databases

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections - Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. 

Given the size of JSTOR overall, it is recommended that your searching be limited to specific topical sub-divisions. You might try one or both of the following areas:

  • Anthropology
  • Archaeology

Limiting to a specific geographic area of the world, or ethnicity, will most often provide research on more recent subjects. If the ancient history of an area is covered in a journal, it is included in the Anthropology or Archaeology files. The same is true of the journals in the Religion file.

Keep in mind that the journal in JSTOR are all at least 5 years old. JSTOR does not provide access to the latest issues. Those will need to be searched in other files like Historical Abstracts.

Project MUSE - Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.  In many cases, the titles differ from those in JSTOR.  It is probably best to search both databases.

Unlike JSTOR, coverage in Project Muse will not provide the entire historical run of a title. In most cases, it will only be the past 15 to 20 years.

 

Historical Abstracts - Provides indexing and full-text to articles in journals covering world history from B.C.E. to current times.

It is possible to limit the time that the article is focused on and when searching specific geographic areas, this will be beneficial in focusing your results.