Focus on Evidence-Based Tools and Resources - HHPS 7303 - Evaluation of Health Programs - Kanekar - Research Guides at University of Arkansas Little Rock

Browse Evidence-Based Practices & Programs

The following websites may provide useful evidence-based information on programs and practices, such as guidelines, reviews, and reports:

Campbell Collaboration
Produces systematic reviews of the effects of interventions. Enter search terms (such as the name of the health condition and/or target population) and be sure to change the drop-down from "Title" to "All Text."
International Initiative for Impact Evaluation
Provides evaluation resources for program evaluation.
Guide to Community Preventive Services (Community Preventive Services Task Force)
Provides information on program and policy interventions that have been effective.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Use the search box at the top of the page to search for possible reports on your population.
Institute of Medicine Reports
Enter search terms (such as the name of the health condition and/or target population) in the box at the top left hand corner of the page.
Healthy Living (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
The CDC has information on a variety of health topics. You can also use the search box in the top right-hand corner of the page to search for other information.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them.
Center for Disease Control
Diseases & Conditions > more > A- Z list.
The CDC is the national public health agency of the United States. It is a United States federal agency, under the Department of Health and Human Services,
National Institute of Health
Each of the 27 National Institute of Health institutes and centers focus on a particular diseases or body systems.
Medline Plus
Database produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information.
Program Planning Resource
Using Evidence-Based Resources for Program Design, Implementation, and Evaluation
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Enter search terms (such as the name of the health condition and/or target population) in the box at the top right hand corner of the page.

Find more and keep up-to-date

This page provides a list of evidence based practice tools and resources. This is not a comprehensive list. Be comprehensive and always seek the most current and proven practices. Try the google search to find other tools and resources. There are generally two types of evidence based resources: systematic review and nonsystematic review. Reviews summarizing the outcomes of various intervention trials are therefore an extremely efficient method for obtaining the “bottom line” about what works and what doesn’t.. All evidence based resources should provide an explanation of methods used.

Search Specific Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals in all areas of education.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to educational publications. Coverage varies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to biomedical journals
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals covering health, medicine, and other related fields.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals, books, and government reports related to criminal justice.