Skip to main content

SOWK 8302 - Family Therapy

Recommended Databases

After selecting an issue that interests you, it will be necessary to obtain background information on the subject. This material is best found in journal articles. Depending on the topic, there are various databases to search. Select a database to begin with, based on the main focus of your policy issue.

Peer-reviewed articles

"Peer-reviewed" articles, also known as "scholarly" articles, are those that have been through a thorough review process before being published. At this level of coursework, it is expected that the articles being cited in your papers will be peer-reviewed. Most databases offer the option of limiting search results to such articles. Take advantage of this option whenever possible.

Journals by Title

While the library offers a wide variety of databases with full-text articles, not every journal is in every database. If the database you are searching does not offer full text for the desired journal, check the journal title in Journals by Title to see if the full text is offered in another database. 

Be sure to check the dates of coverage closely. Some journals are only available for a limited number of years and many do not offer access to the latest 12 months.

If the the article is not available at the UALR Ottenheimer Library, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled within three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.