Research Guides: HIST 4338 Holocaust: Government Information

Spotlight: GPO Catalog of Government Publications

The GPO Catalog of Government Publications indexes government publications from the U.S. Superintendent of Documents, the publisher of materials from all federal agencies.

U.S. Holocuast Memorial Museum

A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, promote human dignity, and prevent genocide. A public-private partnership, federal support guarantees the Museum’s permanence, and its far-reaching educational programs and global impact are made possible by donors nationwide.

Finding United States Government Publications

The United States government publications received in paper format are on the 1st floor of the UALR Ottenheimer Library, next to the Reference Collection. All of these publications are in the online catalog and most can be checked out. The reports distributed on microfiche are available by request from the Circulation Desk on the first floor. Copies can be made from the microfiche.

Below are sample publications that are available:

Archival Guide to the Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Call Number: US Doc Y3.H74: 8.AR 32

Hitler's Shadow: Nazi War Criminals, U.S. Intelligence, and the Cold War
Call Number: US Doc AE 1.102: H 63

Oral History Interview Guidelines, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Call Number: US Doc Y 3.H 74: 8H62

Washington Conference on Holocaust-era Assets, November 30-December 3, 1998
Call Number: US Doc S 1.2: H 74

A wide variety of publications from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum can be found on the 1^st floor, in US Publications (next to the Reference Collection), with the call number US Doc Y 3.H 74:.

Finding Congressional Publications

Serial Set This link opens in a new window
The United States Serial Set will allow for searching about the Holocaust, concentration camps, the Nuremburg Trials, and any other event related to the Holocaust that might have involved Congress or another United States federal agency.

The work of the United States Congress frequently involves historical subjects, especially those that are revisited over time. Congress explored the atrocities of the Holocaust in the late 1940 and early 1950's, and several more times over the past 6 decades, as new information became available.

Try the following two full-text databases for Congressional materials on the topic:

American Memory

American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.