Skip to main content

HIST 4338 Holocaust

Archives of the Destruction

The UALR Ottenheimer Library has a collection entitled Archives of the Destruction: A Photographic Record of the Holocaust.   A supporting booklet provides an index to all the images in the fiche collection.  The images themselves include more than 15,000 photographs from Nazi organizations, allied servicemen, underground organizations and the archives of various countries.  Scenes of hardship and survival, battle and celebration, life and death are revealed. Images of pre- and post-war synagogues, ghetto life, abuse of Jewish citizens by Nazi soldiers, Jewish servicemen, the Nuremberg trials and other events are included. Large selections of photographs from many concentration camps are presented, including Majdanek, Treblinka, Auschwitz, Buchenwald, Dachau and Bergen Belsen, depicting a realistic view of the abuses suffered by prisoners.

Both the booklet and the accompanying microfiche can be accessed at the Circulation Desk on the first floor.

A Note About Finding Books

When searching the UALR Ottenheimer Library online catalogthe Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings recommends using:

             Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)

It is important to indicate that you are searching specifically for the 20th century Holocaust as other episodes of mass killings or attempted exterminations are referred to as holocausts at other times in world history.  This subject heading can also be broken down by individual nations where it took place, like Hungary or Poland. 

You may also wish to search for more specific topics like:       

             Holocaust Memorials

             Holocaust Survivors

             Holocaust Victims

Reference Sources

Reference sources, located on the first floor of the UALR Ottenheimer Library, are not available to check out. You are welcome, however, to make photocopies. You also have the option of scanning pages and sending them to your email account as a PDF file using copier #3 on the first floor.

Who's Who in Nazi Germany

Call Number: REF CT 1063 .W48 1982

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust                
Call Number: REF D 804.3 .E53 1990

Atlas of the Holocaust                               
Call Number: REF G 1797.21 .E29 G58 1993

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature      
Call Number: REF PN 56 .H55 E53 2002

Holocaust Novelists                                   
Call Number: REF PN 56 .H55 H68 2004