Finding Articles - CRJU 7301/8310 - Pro-seminar - Research Guides at University of Arkansas Little Rock

Recommended Journal Databases

Looking for journal articles on a specific topic? Try searching one or more of the following databases.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and international criminal justice journals. (Supported by the Arkansas State Traveler Project. This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Science.)
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals, books, and government reports related to criminal justice.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, dissertations, book chapters, and technical reports in psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of leading political science and international relations journals.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals on education and legal topics.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of criminal justice publications, including federal, state, and local reports. Coverage varies.

Recommended Newspaper Databases

While newspapers do not provide scholarly research on a topic, they are an excellent resource for the latest information on the types of crimes being committed and how the nation is responding. Many urban newspapers carry lists of crimes in their area or annual statistics on crime for their region. Coverage of court cases are also a regular part of the national and local news sections.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for select U.S. and international newspapers. Television and radio news transcripts included. Coverage varies.

Dissertations and Thesis

While reading the entire document may be too much, it does not hurt to search your topic in the Dissertations & Theses database to see if someone else has done similiar research. Skimming their bibliography can provide unique resources that might not turn up in other library databases. Some of the papers will be full text in the database. Others can be requested via Interlibrary Loan, making note that you will settle for the title page and the bibliography if the owning library will not send the entire work.