The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. This is not a searchabled database. This site allows users to download entire datasets that were created by federal agencies for research. It is not recommended as a tool for locating basic numbers or statistical tables.
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Contains automated records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction. The Archive was established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policy making efforts. This web site was developed to inform researchers about the available data sets and the procedures for use and access.
A collaborative effort by the Urban Institute and local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood information systems in local policy making and community building. Provides a variety of data and community sources in one resource.
Provides information about utilizing and/or analyzing data to enhance the work of advocates and others working to end domestic and sexual violence. Tables of national and state data sets include live links to data sets, annotations, and related information. This resource page also includes some considerations around the credibility, value and limitations of research and data collection methods, links to research reports and publications, and information for researchers including recommended definitions and data elements for research on violence against women.
A global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, which is led by an international team of scholars. The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire to provide various social data sets.