Research Guides: CSPS 7115 Clinton School of Public Service: Selecting Articles

Karen Russ

Possible Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage varies; most articles at least 5 years old.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life includes rigorous curation of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 139 global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.  
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals in the fields of communications, journalism and mass media.

Possible Newspaper Databases

While newspapers are not considered scholarly sources, they do provide a different perspective on topics and sometimes are the only access to the historic societal view of a topic. The UALR Ottenheimer Library offers access to hundreds of newspapers via various databases.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for select U.S. and international newspapers. Television and radio news transcripts included. Coverage varies.
New York Times: 1980- Present This link opens in a new window
1980- present
New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
Wall Street Journal: 1984-present This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches the most recent premium U.S. news content, including The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Dissertations and Theses

While reading the entire document may be too much, it does not hurt to search your topic in the Dissertations & Theses database to see if someone else has done similiar research. Skimming their bibliography can provide unique resources that might not turn up in other databases.

Indexes every doctoral dissertation completed at accredited institutions in the United States.
Provides full text for selected institutions, available from 1997 to the present.