HHPS 4380 - Health Education Evaluation - Kanekar

The 7th edition of the Published Manual includes a guide for creating citations for the following categories of textual works:

1. Periodicals: journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, blogs, other online platforms that publish articles, etc.
2. Books and reference works:
   1. Books = authored books, edited books, anthologies, religious works, classical works, etc.
   2. Reference works = dictionaries, encyclopedias, Wikipedia, diagnostic manuals, etc.
3. Edited book chapters and entries in reference works
   1. Edited book chapters = chapters of edited books and works in anthologies, etc.
   2. Entries in reference works = dictionary, Wikipedia, thesaurus, and encyclopedia entries
4. Reports and gray literature
   1. Reports = government reports, technical reports, research reports, etc.
   2. Gray literature = press releases, code of ethics, grants, policy briefs, issue briefs, etc.
5. Conference sessions and presentations: includes paper and poster presentations, as well as symposium contributions and keynote addresses
6. Dissertations and theses
7. Reviews: includes reviews of books, films, TV shows, albums, and other forms of entertainment
8. Unpublished works and informally published works

Below are sample citations for the most common print resources, based on the 7th edition. The format of each example will include the following information in the following format:

Type of Resource Being Cited

• Standard format for citing this type of resource
• Example reference citation of resource that you would use in the reference section of a paper
• The parenthetical citation of the resource that would be used in-text as you write your paper
• The narrative citation of the resource that would be used in-text as you write your paper

Physical Book With One Author or Editor

• Citation Format:                            Author last name, Author first initial. (Year published). Title of book. Name of publisher.
• Example Reference Citation:       Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge.
• Parenthetical Citation:                 (Burgess, 2019)
• Narrative Citation:                         Burgess (2019)

Physical Book With More Than One Author or Editor

• Citation Format:                       First author last name, First author first initial., & Second author last name, second author first                                                              initial. (Year published). Title of book. Name of publisher.
• Example Reference Citation:  Shaffer, M. A., & Barrows, A. (2008). The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.                                                                      Dial Press.
• Parenthetical Citation:            (Shaffer & Barrows, 2008)
• Narrative Citation:                    Shaffer & Barrows (2008)

Physical Book With An Author and Editor Credited On The Book Cover

• Citation Format:                           Author last name, Author first initial. Title of book (Editor first initial. Editor last name, Shorthand                                                              for Editor). Name of Publisher.
• Example Reference Citation:      Meadows, D. H. (2008) Thinking in systems: A primer (D. Wright, Ed.). Chelsea Green                                                                           Publishing.
• Parenthetical Citation:                (Meadows, 2008)
• Narrative Citation:                        Meadows (2008)

6TH EDITION INFORMATION: NEEDS TO BE UPDATED

Many publishers are now using the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) System -- commonly referred to as DOI or DOI numbers -- to provide unique and persistent identifiers for journal articles.

The 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Associationincorporates DOI numbers for journal articles if they are available.

EXAMPLE OF DOI NUMBER:

10.1016/j.tmaid.2010.11.003

Here are some suggestions on where to look for a DOI for a journal article that you wish to cite:

• On the first page of an article. The DOI may be listed at the top or bottom of the page.

• If you retrieve the article from one of the library's databases, the DOI may be included with the identifying information (such as title and authors) provided by the database.

• Try performing a search inCrossRef, which offers a DOI lookup option.

Keep in mind that not all journal publishers use the DOI System.

For additional information about the DOI System, please refer to pages 188-192 in the 6th edition of the Publication Manual.