Finding Periodicals - POLS 4375 - Politics of the Middle East - Research Guides at University of Arkansas Little Rock

Recommended Resources for Newspapers

While newspapers are not considered scholarly sources, they are frequently looked at as primary sources if the person writing the article was present at the event being described. (Confirm this with your professor.) They are also a useful means of obtaining names of leaders, activists, and military officers who might be involved in the subject you are researching. Newspapers are also a great source for editorials.

The coverage of each newspaper varies by database so it is necessary to check closely to be sure the desired title and date will be available in the selected database.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for select U.S. and international newspapers. Television and radio news transcripts included. Coverage varies.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches the most recent premium U.S. news content, including The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada. A comprehensive collection that features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format.

POLS 4375 - Politics of the Middle East

Karen Russ

Recommended Resources for Journal Articles

Recommended Resources for Newspapers