Finding Articles - SOWK 7350 - Social Welfare Policy & Resources - Research Guides at University of Arkansas Little Rock

Recommended Databases

Looking for journal articles on a specific topic? Try searching one or more of the following databases.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some linked full-text articles in psychology and counseling. This database focuses on articles that discuss the theories behind certain behaviors.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to U.S. and international criminal justice journals. (Supported by the Arkansas State Traveler Project. This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Science.) Coverage varies.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and government reports on a wide range of topics related to criminal justice.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage varies; most articles at least 5 years old.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes full-text consumer health periodicals. This will allow research on specific medical conditions that impact the elderly and how their families might deal with them.

Legal Research

Hein Online - Provides full-text coverage of law journals that will cover the court decisions on legal issues of social policy. The court cases included in the database will also provide background on how laws impact the programs and policies overseeing the daily life of those in need or assistance. Full-text of US laws can be accessed here as well. In addition to federal laws, state laws are available as well.

Newspaper Sources

While newspapers will not provide scholarly articles, they will provide anecdotal stories about the subject and allow you to see how is incorporated in facilities and programs around the world.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for select U.S. and international newspapers. Television and radio news transcripts included. Coverage varies.

Hint: Article Delivery Service

The Library provides current UALR faculty, students and staff with free electronic delivery of journal articles and book chapters from the print and microform collections of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. For additional information and directions consult the Article Delivery Service page.