Below are sample citations for the most common and general electronic resources, based on the 6th edition. Please refer to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association for clarification or additional information.
Journal Article with DOI - Retrieved from library database
EXAMPLE #1:
Chambers, R. M., & Potter C. C. (2008). The match between family
needs and services for high-risk neglecting families. Journal of
Public Child Welfare, 2, 229-252. doi: 10.1080/15548730802312750
EXAMPLE #2:
Herbst, D. M., Griffith, N. R., & Slama, K. M. (2014). Rodeo cowboys:
Conforming to masculine norms and help-seeking behaviors for
depression. Journal of Rural Mental Health, 38, 20-35.
http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/rmh000000
- Most journals are paginated by volume. Journals that are paginated by volume begin with page 1 in issue 1 and continue page numbering in the following issues. Example of a journal paginated by volume: Issue 1 has page numbers 1-90, issue 2 has page numbers 91-150, and so on.
- Include the issue number in parentheses after the volume number if the journal is paginated by issue. Journals that are paginated by issue start with page 1 each issue.
- DOI information:
- For DOI numbers that start with numbers (Example #1 above): DOI should be in lower case (doi). There is no period after the last digit of the DOI.
- For DOI numbers that start with dx.doi.org (Example #2 above):
- Be sure to include http:// before the DOI.
- The DOI should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the DOI has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the DOI.
Journal Article without DOI - Retrieved from library database
Kemp, S. P., Marcenko, M. O., Hoagwood, K., & Vesneski, W. (2009).
Engaging parents in child welfare services: Bridging family needs
and child welfare mandates. Child Welfare, 88, 101-126.
Retrieved from http://www.cwla.org/child-welfare-journal/
- Most journals are paginated by volume. Journals that are paginated by volume begin with page one 1 in issue 1 and continue page numbering in the following issues. Example of a journal paginated by volume: Issue 1 has page numbers 1-90, issue 2 has page numbers 91-150, and so on.
- Include the issue number in parentheses after the volume number if the journal is paginated by issue. Journals that are paginated by issue start with page 1 each issue.
- Include the Web page address of the journal. Do a web search to find the address.
-
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
Magazine Article - Retrieved from library database
Grunwald, M., & Scherer, M. (2010, February 8). The main streeters vs. the
wall streeters. Time, 175(5), 30-31. Retrieved from
http://www.time.com
- Include the issue number in parentheses after the volume number if the magazine is paginated by issue. Magazines that are paginated by issue start with page 1 each issue.
- If a magazine is paginated by volume, do not include the issue number in parentheses. Magazines that are paginated by volume begin with page 1 in issue 1 and continue page numbering in the following issues. Example of a magazine paginated by volume: Issue 1 has page numbers 1-90, issue 2 has page numbers 91-150, and so on.
- If there are no page numbers listed, put a period after the volume and issue number.
- If the article does not appear on sequential pages (i.e. 30-35), list the page numbers and separate the numbers by comma (i.e. 18-23, 25).
- Include the Web page address of the magazine. Do a web search to find the address.
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
Newspaper Article - Retrieved from library database
McNeil, D. G., Jr. (2009, August 23). Universities are preparing for back-
to-the-classroom outbreaks of swine flu. The New York Times, p. 23.
Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com
- Include the word "The" if it is at the beginning of a newspaper title.
- Before page numbers, use p. for one page and pp. for multiple pages.
- If the article does not appear on sequential pages (i.e. 30-35), list the page numbers and separate the numbers by comma (i.e. 18-23, 25).
- If there are no page numbers listed, put a period after the title of the newspaper.
- Include the Web page address of the newspaper. Do a web search to find the address.
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
Electronic Book with DOI - Retrieved from library database
Gruszka, A., Matthews, G., & Szymura, B. (Eds.). (2010). Handbook of individual
differences in cognition: Attention, memory, and executive control.
doi: 10.1007/978-1-4419-1210-7
- DOI should be in lower case (doi). There is no period after the last digit of the DOI.
Electronic Book without DOI - Retrieved from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database
Potter, E. (2006). Feminism and philosophy of science: An
introduction. Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
CountryWatch - Country Reviews
Youngblood Coleman, D. (Ed.). (2009). Haiti 2009 country review. Retrieved from
http://www.countrywatch.com
- To obtain the editor, published date, and title of the Country Review, select theCountry Review [PDF] link, under Country PDF Download, in the left hand column of the Country Review Web page.
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
CQ Researcher - Report with PDF Available
Marshall, P. (2009, November 6). Online privacy. CQ Researcher, 19,
933-56. Retrieved from http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
- To find out the author, publication date, title, volume, and page numbers, select View PDF link within CQ Researcher.
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
CQ Researcher - Short Report (No PDF Available)
Clemmitt, M. (2013. June 15). Health care. CQ Researcher.
Retrieved from http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/
- List the publication date (top of the page) before the report title.
- The author may be listed at the bottom of the page.
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print database - Test Review
Seltzer, G. B. (1992). Test review of the Quality of Life Questionnaire.
In J. J. Kramer & J. C. Impara (Eds.), The eleventh mental measurements
yearbook. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. Retrieved
from Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print database.
- The authors of the test review are listed at the start of the review, in capital letters:
- Review of [Name of Instrument] by AUTHOR(S) NAMES
- The title of the instrument should be capitalized as it appears at the start of the review.
- The Yearbook Reference field in the database [middle of the page] lists the following:
- Publication year
- Editor(s): Use Ed. [if one editor] or Eds. [if more than one editor]
- Edition number: In word, not number, format - i.e. use eleventh not 11th
Occupational Outlook Handbook
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2014, January 8).
Librarians. In Occupational outlook handbook (2014-15 ed.).
Retrieved from http://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-
library/librarians.htm
- The date is either the creation or last edited date listed on the Web page.
- The edition information is located at the bottom of the Web page.
Specific page of a website - Not an entire website
Food Allergy Research & Education. (2014). Food allergy basics. Retrieved
August 28, 2014, from http://www.foodallergy.org/about-food-allergies
- If no author is listed, begin with title of Web page.
- The date is either the creation or last edited date listed on the Web page.
- Include date accessed if Web page information is likely to change or your instructor requires the date.
- The Web page address should not be hyperlinked -- that is, not in blue and not underlined.
- If the address has to be split into two lines on your References page, break the URL before most punctuation (slash, dash, etc), except for http://.
- Do not add a period after the end of the address.
Entire website - Not a specific page of a website
- Refer to this page or the Publication Manual if you want to cite an entire website.
-
