For this class you will be using empirical articles. If you need a refresher on the difference between empirical and review articles, use the link below to access a handout.
Taking a few minutes to plan your search (including search terms and synonyms) can save you time.
It is highly recommended that you print out and complete the searching worksheet BEFORE you continue for each assignment.
In order to find peer-reviewed psychology journal articles, you will need to search at least one of the library's databases. The recommended database you search is PsycINFO.
Another good database to find psychology articles is PsycARTICLES.
First, print the screenshots AND read them carefully. Then, go ahead and search using the links to the databases below. You may need to read the instructions more than once!
Question: Help! The PDF Full Text or Get Full Text link does not work!
Answer: If the PDF Full Text or Get Full Text links do not work, please contact me -- jxsiegeL@ualr.edu.
Question: Help! There is no PDF Full Text or Get Full Text link!
Answer: If there is no full text link, you will need to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. Plan ahead!
Question: I have searched for an hour and about to pull my hair out!
Answer: Struggling to find articles? Please e-mail me with as much detail as possible -- jxsiegeL@ualr.edu.
Remember, you can also schedule a research appointment with me in-person or virtually/online.
Evening appointments are available with at least one or preferably two business days notice, excluding weekends.