Research Guides: CSPS 7335: Field Research Methods in Public Service: Focus your search

Search Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage varies; most articles at least 5 years old.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Foundation Directory Online Professional is a research tool to help find the grantmakers most likely to fund projects. This tool includes grantmaker information in comprehensive grantmaker profiles that have been verified, coded, and sorted by funding areas. The majority of these grantmakers do not have websites and would otherwise be almost impossible to find.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multidisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to publications covering economics, politics and society. Coverage varies.

Search Subject Databases

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Coverage varies.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals in all areas of education.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to publications on health issues for the public.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sociology journals. Coverage varies.

Search Government & Legal Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of law journals, the Congressional Record Bound volumes, U.S. Reports, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations; treaty series for the League of Nations, United Nations, and the United States; and additional files.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to journals on education and legal topics.
Arkansas State Legislature This link opens in a new window
Provides information on Arkansas legislators, legislative committees, session bills and resolutions, meetings and events. Includes full-text access of the Arkansas code.
govinfo This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to federal government publications, including congressional and presidential materials, and publications from various agencies.

*Replaced FDsys in December of 2018.

Search streaming videos

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 50,000 video titles on issues worldwide spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection on every topic imaginable. The database includes films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, and Documentary Education Resources.

*Faculty may request video titles for use in their classes.