Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3355 United States Civil War

Diaries and Letters

Civil War Diaries and Letters Collections - A collection of diaries and letters from Auburn Auniversity, covering both sides of the war.

Manuscripts of the American Civil War - Seven soldier's diaries from the University of Notre Dame's Rare Books and Special collections.  Represents both sides of the war and the daily experiences.

The Civil War Archive: Letters Home from the Civil War - A collection of letters from both Union and Confederate soldiers, organized by name and regiment.

Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1855-1865 - A collection of letters, photographs, and diary entries documenting a lesser-known conflict of the time.

First Person Narratives of the American South - A collection of diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives written by Southerners. The majority of materials in this collection are written by those Southerners whose voices were less prominent in their time, including African Americans, women, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.

Papers

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress - Nearly 20,000 documents including correspondence, newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, andother materials.  Most date from the presidential years.

The Papers of Jefferson Davis - A selection of documents taken from the published papers of Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederacy.  Includes speeches, reports and correspondence.

Frederick Douglass Papers - Presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher. The online collection, containing approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images), spans the years 1841-1964, with the bulk of the material dating from 1862 to 1865.