Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLS 4341 - African Politics

General Tips

There is no one periodical index that will supply all the articles necessary for any one paper. Depending on the focus of your paper, it may be necessary to search all the databases offered here, and possibly others, after consultation with Dr. Wiebelhaus-Brahm or me.

Not all the journals in these databases provide full text for all entries so please check the Journals By Title option to see which other database might offer full text, or it the library has the journal in paper or microformat.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete offers full text to hundreds of business magazines and journals, but also provides a publication type called "Country Reports" that will provide a range of information on individual nations from a wide variety of resources.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. In addition to the Political Science and History categories, you can narrow your search the journals that specifically focus on Latin American Studies.

Academic Source Complete

Academic Source Complete is a multiple subject database that provides access to full-text magazines and scholarly journals. 

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature

The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature is a comprehensive index of popular general interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 to 1982. If you are looking for news coverage of an historic event or person, this might be the place to start. While most of the materials are not scholarly, the articles will provide basic information upon which you can develop your search in other databases. This database contains selected full text.

CQ Public Affairs

CQ Public Affairs provides primary source documents, statistical overviews, contact information, and in-depth reporting on public policy issues. Within the database it is recommended that searches be focused in the International Affairs, International Trade & Development, National Security, or U.S. Congress and Politics subdivisions.