U.S. Government Organizations - POLS 4341 - Human Rights - Research Guides at University of Arkansas Little Rock

Indexes to US Publications & Websites

The US Government is the largest publisher in the world and frequently producing materials addressing actions of intergovernmental organizations. The three indexes below will provide access to materials, some in full text, others with only titles and call numbers.

Congressional Publications

Indexes CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress since 1970; bills, laws and legislation; as well as information about members of Congress. A growing percentage of the newer materials in this database will be full text. Others might be available are books in Ottenheimer Library.

GPO Catalog of Government Publications

Indexes government publications from the U.S. Superintendent of Documents. Check the library's online catalog to determine whether or not Ottenheimer Library has the item. If not, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

govinfo This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to federal government publications, including congressional and presidential materials, and publications from various agencies.

*Replaced FDsys in December of 2018.
Catalog of United States Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes government publications from the U.S. Government Publishing Office.

United States Agencies

United States Commission on Civil Rights
The Commission on Civil Rights collects and studies information on discrimination or denials of equal protection of the laws because of race, color, religion, sex, age, disability, national origin, or the administration of justice.

United States Agency for International Development
The U.S. Agency for International Development administers U.S. foreign economic and humanitarian assistance programs worldwide in the developing world, Central and Eastern Europe, and Eurasia.
Department of State
The Department of State advises the President in the formulation and execution of foreign policy and promotes the long-range security and well-being of the United States.
African Development Foundation
The African Development Foundation's goals are to alleviate poverty and promote broad-based sustainable development and empowerment in Africa; to expand local capacity to promote and support grassroots, participatory development; and to enhance and strengthen U.S. relations with Africa through effective development assistance.
Inter-American Foundation
The Inter-American Foundation is an independent Federal agency that supports social and economic development in Latin America and the Caribbean. It makes grants primarily to private, local, and community organizations that carry out self-help projects.